Biden tops Russian travel ban list, excluding Trump

US President Donald Trump and Russian President Vladimir Putin arrive for a joint press conference after their meeting in Helsinki, July 16, 2018.

Grigory Ducor | Reuters

President Joe Biden of Russia “Blacklist” But former President Donald Trump did not.

The Russian Foreign Ministry announced on Saturday. Updated list of nearly 1,000 Americans A permanent ban on entry into the country in response to harsh Western sanctions over the brutal invasion of Ukraine in February is largely symbolic.

Former Vice President Biden has already been banned from visiting Russia since mid-March, along with Secretary of State Anthony Blinken, Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Mark Milley.

But the updated list now includes Vice President Kamala Harris and Biden’s scandalous son Hunter Biden, Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg and former Secretary of State and First Lady Hillary Clinton.

Billionaire investor George Soros was also on the list. Soros’ philanthropic support for the liberal cause and groups in the former Soviet bloc made him a boogeyman to Russian and right-wing conspiracy theorists.

Trump was not on the list of 963 banned Americans. Trump has been praising Russian President Vladimir Putin for years and criticizing Russia’s investigation into Russian meddling in the 2016 U.S. presidential election, which ended when Trump defeated his Democratic rival, Clinton.

Trump has been impeached for withholding congressional military aid to Ukraine in 2019 and for pressuring then-elected President Volodymyr Zelensky to announce an investigation into then-Democratic presidential candidate Joe Biden.

Trump was acquitted after a trial in the Senate.

Trump’s spokesperson did not immediately respond to a request for comment on his omission from Russia’s travel ban list.

Former President Barack Obama and Vice President Mike Pence are also not on the list, but Pence’s brother, Republican Congressman Greg Pence, has been banned.

So are Greg Pence’s fellow Republicans in the House and Senate, 211 Republicans and 224 Democrats in both houses.

GOP Representatives on the banned list included two hardcore Republican Trump supporters, Matt Gaetz of Florida and Paul Gosar of Arizona.

Also on this list are two Democratic Representatives who hold strongly progressive policy positions on the Trump world: Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez from New York and Ilhan Omar from Minnesota.

So is House Speaker Nancy Pelosi of D-California, who was banned this week from receiving communion from the archbishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of San Francisco for supporting abortion rights.

CNBC Politics

Learn more about CNBC’s political coverage:

In a statement released by Russia’s state news agency RIA, the foreign ministry said “Russia’s anti-sanctions are of a coercive nature and are intended to force the ruling US regime to change its behavior and make it aware of new geopolitical realities.”

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs also accused the US of trying to impose a neocolonial “rules-based world order” on the rest of the world.

The Ministry of National Defense said that the ‘hostile action’ taken by the US government was ‘a boomerang to strike the United States itself,’ and that it will “continue to receive appropriate backlash.”

Russia has also barred entry to hundreds of Canadians, including Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Deputy Prime Minister Christian Freeland and hundreds of British Parliamentarians.


Leave a Comment