Hirt claims Carapaz wins stage with Giro lead cut

Jan Hirt finished 12th overall at the 2017 Giro d’Italia.

Czech rider Jan Hirt won her first Grand Tour title with a win on a rugged mountain stage when Richard Carapaz saw Giro d’Italia’s overall lead cut to just 3 seconds.

Stage 16 of the 202km from Sala to Aprica had three Category 1 climbs and was considered one of the toughest stages.

Hirt beat Team DSM’s Thymen Arensman by 7 seconds.

“There were some problems on stage. The chains fell and I had convulsions, but I never gave up,” Hirt said.

“I’m happy to be single. I’ve always said that my biggest achievement is to win the Giro d’Italia stage and I can stop after that, but I won’t stop now.”

Hirt of the Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux team was part of a major breakout group before attacking on the last ride of Valico di Santa Cristina.

7 seconds behind the overall standings, Australia’s Jai Hindley brought the rest of the chase group home along with Ineos Grenadiers rider Carapaz.

Hindley’s third place saw rider Bora-Hansgrohe get a decisive bonus second to get closer behind Ecuador’s Carapaz in a fight to stop the maglia rosa leaders.

However, Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) was now 44 seconds behind when he failed to respond in his final climb, wasting time on his regular rank rivals.

“It was a tough stage and happy at the end,” Carapaz said. “I thought I would be third in the sprint.

“I lost a few seconds at Hindley but gained more at Almeida, so the balance is positive.”

Stage 17 runs 168 kilometers of mountainous terrain from Ponte di Legno to Lavarone, ending the 21st stage race in Verona with a time trial on May 29th.

Step 16 Results

  1. Jan Hirt (Cze/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert Materiaux) 5 hours 40 minutes 45 seconds
  2. Thymen Arensman (Ned/Team DSM) +7 seconds
  3. Jai Hindley (Aus/Bora Hansgrohe) +1 min 24 sec
  4. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Ineos Grenadiers)
  5. Alejandro Valverde (Esp/Movistar Team) at the same time
  6. Mikel Landa (Esp/Bahrain Victorious)
  7. Leonard Kamna (Ger/Bora Hansgrohe) +1 min 38 sec
  8. Joao Almeida (Por/UAE Team Emirates) at the same time
  9. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Astana – Qazaqstan team) +2:6
  10. Hugh Carthy (GB/EF Training EasyPost +2 min 13 sec)

general classification

  1. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Ineos Grendiers) 68 hours 49 minutes 6 seconds
  2. Jai Hindley (Aus/Bora Hansgrohe +3 seconds)
  3. Joao Almeida (Por/UAE Team Emirates) +44 seconds
  4. Mikel Landa (Esp/Bahrain Victorious) +59 seconds
  5. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Astana – Qazaqstan team) +3 min 40 sec
  6. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/Intermarche-Wanti-Govern Materio) +3:48
  7. Fellow Bilbao (Esp/Bahrain Victorious) +3:51
  8. Emanuel Buchman (Ger/Bora Hansgrohe) +4 min 45 sec
  9. Jan Hirt (Cze/Intermarche Wanty Gobert Materiaux) +7 min 42 sec
  10. Alejandro Valverde (Esp/Movistar Team +9 min 4 sec)

BBC Ambient - SoundBBC footer around - sound

Leave a Comment