The trio races in NASCAR’s All-Star Drive for $1 million in Texas.

FORT WORTH, TX (AP) — Ricky Stenhouse Jr., from Texas James Buescher and Daniel Suarez competed in the NASCAR All-Star Race for a chance to win $1 million on Sunday night while Erik Jones finished 24th. – Car field in fan votes.

Stenhouse and Buescher won the first two 20-lap stages in the qualifier race held early on Sunday. Suarez took the lead in the last 10 lap penalty shootout, which was the Mexican driver’s third appearance on the All-Star field.

“That means we’ll have one more challenge and have fun,” Suarez said.

In Petty GMS Motorsports’ car 43, the trio and Jones join the already trapped 20 drivers in their second non-point All-Star race at Texas Motor Speedway.

2017 All-Star winner Kyle Busch was at the pole of the main event.

Ryan Blaney finished second on Saturday night, beating William Byron and Cup Series champion Kyle Larson, who recently won two All-Star starts. After winning the All-Star Race last June, Larson also won the Cup playoff race on the 1 1/2 mile Texas track in the fall.

At the start of Sunday’s All-Star Open race, Stenhouse was pushed to the front row after far-right winner Tyler Reddick had to go behind the 16-vehicle field due to an unauthorized change after Saturday’s qualifiers. Reddick climbed to 5th by the end of the first stage, but loosened up in the final leg and crashed into a wall.

“It was a good start,” said Stenhouse, who advanced to the fourth All-Star race. “I felt I could control the car from behind if the air was clean,” he said.

Texas is the fourth track to host the annual exhibition, but the second track to host multiple All-Star races. The first All-Star race was held in Charlotte in 1985, and in 1985 Atlanta recorded a 33-game winning streak in Charlotte. The race was moved to Bristol in 2020 when North Carolina will not allow spectators due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Last year’s All-Star race split 100 laps into 6 segments, 4 of which were only 15 laps with reverse gimmicks and green flag pit stops. This year, it’s a bit simpler, with 125 laps spread over 4 segments (25, 25, 25, 50 laps). There will be a pit stop competition before the longest leg begins, the winner starting in the first two rows and starting with the three stage winners.

“Short and fast, but long enough to let the tire go out and something to happen, it’s a good balance, especially at the end,” said two-time All-Star winner and four-time runner Kevin Harvick. consolation.

Harvick is in the 22nd All-Star Race and Kurt Busch is in the 21st All-Star Race. Mark Martin holds the record for 24 All-Star appearances.


More AP Auto Racing: and

Leave a Comment